Renovation of Ballynure Cemetery. The graveyard is a reminder of Jonathan Swift, author of Gulliver’s Travels. Swift’s Kilroot parish included Ballynure and he regularly preached in the village. The earliest headstone in the graveyard records the death of Elenor Clemens in 1698, an ancestor of Mark Twain, the author. And the graveyard contains three burial vaults for the well-known local families of Dobbs and Ellis.
Ballynure Cemetery dates back from the eighteenth century and is located to the south of Church Road, opposite Christ Church. It is the oldest cemetery in Newtownabbey and the second oldest in South Antrim, containing the remains of an old church, gravestones and gated plots. The cemetery is accessed through rubble square pillars and the original cast iron-gates. The grounds of the old cemetery including the corpse house and church ruin are owned and maintained by Newtownabbey Borough Council, who identified a need to preserve the heritage of the site for future generations.
The following works were carried out:
A unique piece of built heritage preserved for future generations.
Project Objectives: